Review of Xiaomi MI Note 10 Lite Smartphone in UAE

Review of Xiaomi MI Note 10 Lite Smartphone in UAE

June 25, 2020 Off By admin

Xiaomi launched another smart mobile in the Middle East which is MI Note 10 Lite

Among the current lockdown in UAE, many of the smartphone manufacturers are going ahead with Online announcements and launches. Xiaomi also did the same and introduced numerous smartphones like Redmi note 9 Pro, Redmi Note 9 and Mi Note 10 Lite. The Mi Note 10 was introduced earlier around March 2020.
We had the opportunity to get the Mi Note 10 Lite handset delivered by PR at our residence and below are the details and the review.

Body & Specification

Xiaomi Note10Lite - Front Display

Xiaomi Note10Lite – Front Display

The Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite smartphone has a dimension of 157.8 x 74.2 x 9.7 mm and weighing 204 grams which includes a non-removal battery. It has an IPS LCD capacitive touchscreen and a size of 6.47 inches with a resolution of 1080 x 2340 pixels with a screen 395 PPI density and 430 nits max brightness. It has an in-screen fingerprint sensor. It has an 87.8% screen-to-body ratio and resolution 19.5:9 ratio. The body build has an aluminum alloy frame with the front display and the back panel is protected with Corning Gorilla Glass 5

It comes with Android 10.0 with the MIUI 11 as the user interface. It uses Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G (8 nm) chipset + CPU – Octa-core + GPU – Adreno 618 with 6 GB RAM and a 128 GB ROM for storage.

It comes with the Quad cameras on the rear 64 MP, f/1.9, 26mm (wide), 1/1.72″, 8 MP, f/2.2, (ultrawide), 1/4.0″, 2 MP, f/2.4, (macro),5 MP, f/2.4, (depth). The front dew shape camera has Single 16 MP, f/2.5, (wide), 1/3.1″ which embedded into the display.

The main camera can shoot video at 4K@30fps, 1080p@30/60/120fps, 720p@960fps, gyro-EIS and front camera can shoot video at 1080p@30fps. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite features Quad-LED flash, panorama, and HDR for the main cameras and front camera too.

Mi Note 10 Lite smartphone buttons layout is little different from the Redmi phones. The phone has the power button, volume Rockers and dual SIM card tray on the right-hand side of the device and on the top, it has the IR blaster and mic. The bottom of the phone has the USB Type- C super-charge input, speaker grills, mic, and 3.5mm jack output.

The Review

Xiaomi Note10Lite - White Glacier back Panel

Xiaomi Note10Lite – White Glacier back Panel

The device which I have received for review is the Glacier white back panel.

With the 87.8% screen-to-body ratio display, the bezel of the phone almost merges with the frame of the phone. The only thing you will notice is in the top area where it houses the sleek earpiece speaker and single-lens camera “In-display” embedded in the screen.

MI Note Lite is a semi high-range smartphone created for the audience who is looking for a strong camera and work-horse phone and budget which is less than AED1800.

The front camera is a single 16 MP, f/2.0, 25mm (wide), 1/3″ and photo resolution is 1740 x 2320px at 72dpi and has a sensor for face detection and Bokeh effect.

Xiaomi Note10Lite - 16MP Single Lens Camera with Sleek Ear Piece

Xiaomi Note10Lite – 16MP Single Lens Camera with Sleek Ear Piece

Some of the additional features of the front camera under photo mode, in the setting, is the palm gesture, so when you hold your open palm in front of the front camera, it gives you 3-sec count and clicks a selfie. You can record videos in 720p and 1080 at 30fps. You can also add a movie frame and use grid and also you can shoot 15sec short video. You can shoot slow motion and under the video option, there is a dedicated option for changing the bokeh effect and also you can apply readily available filters. Under the photo an option you can shoot with Ai and also HDR option. There is the flash option where it uses the screen full brightness white light as the flash. You can also shoot a selfie in panorama mode.
The back panel of the Mi Note 10 lite houses the Quad cameras in a square shape with the dual-LED flash on the top centre above the Quad cameras and fingerprint sensor which is also the power button on the right-hand side. The Quad cameras consist of 64 MP, f/1.9, 26mm (wide), 1/1.72″, 8 MP, f/2.2, (ultrawide), 1/4.0″, 2 MP, f/2.4, (macro),5 MP, f/2.4, (depth). It supports autofocus (laser focus, phase focus, contrast focus), supports EIS (Electronic Image Stabilization). The rectangle rounded shape panel is little protruding from the back panel, so it better to use the translucent phone casing to protect the cameras.

Xiaomi Note10Lite -Main Quad Cameras

Xiaomi Note10Lite -Main Quad Cameras

The main camera general setting can click images in 4624px X 3472px in 72dpi. But you can click under the 64MP Ultra mode you get 9248px X 6944px at 72dpi. In the portrait mode you get 4624px X 3472px. In the video mode, camera clicks 4K@30fps, 1080p@30/60/120fps, 720p@960fps, gyro-EIS.

In the photography and video mode, you can click at a wide-angle, 1x, 2x, 3x and on further zooming digitally up to 10x. The quality of the image at 10x zoom is not sharp and low light creates a lot of noise. The camera has HDR, Ultra Steady option, macro lens option, portrait mode, and different 10 colour scene options. You can record Time-lapse selfie, and under the video, it shows the low light (Nightscape mode) and panorama mode but it is clicks images. It also has the pro mode where you can do manual adjustment of exposure value (EV), white balance (WB), Auto Focus (AF), Exposure (ISO) and also 48MP Ultra mode.

[su_image_carousel source=”media: 6240,6238,6243,6253,6254,6257,6256″ crop=”none” align=”center” max_width=”1080px” captions=”yes” link=”image” image_size=”full”]

Under the expert mode, you have the option to use all the cameras, wide-angle/macro lens, standard lens, and telescopic lens. In the video mode, you have the direct option of setting the bokeh effect, so as per your choice you can set the aperture and blurring of the background. There is a direct option for portrait mode under the video which detects the face and you can change and set the bokeh of the video. You can also add a movie frame in the video mode.
(Please note: Bokeh mode has to be used sensibly as it may cause out of focus of the video)

The front and main cameras can click images in 9:16, 4:3, 1:1, full-screen ratio. The phone can click videos with compatible format H264 and also H265 format which is available for front and rear cameras.
Under the Nightscape mode, the camera clicks a long time for an image and with the software support, it enhances the image. It is faster in capturing compared to other brands. But, under very low light, it didn’t perform very well.

Operating System and Software

Xiaomi Note10Lite - 3D Curved Display

Xiaomi Note10Lite – 3D Curved Display

The operating system of the Mi Note 10 Lite, it has the latest Android 10.0 with the MIUI 11 as the user interface. So, with Android 10.0, the Mi Note 10 Lite has all the interesting new features of the like the AI beautification, creamy bokeh for portraits, AI recognition up to 500 scenes. The Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G (8 nm) chipset + CPU – Octa-core + GPU – Adreno 618 with 6 GB RAM and a 128 GB ROM for storage and Android Q also help in better for more accurate facial brightness, contrast for selfies on the front cameras and scene-by-scene optimizations for shots taken on the rear and enhancing the photography effects.

With the MIUI 11, now you have flick from the side to have specific apps at your finger touch. The Redmi Note 9S smartphone with the help of AI face recognition for photography and in the video and uses the EIS (Electronic Image Stabilization) to provide a stabilized video.

Benchmark Testing

The Mi Note 10 Lite was tested with various benchmark testing Apps. On PC Mark benchmark, it scored 7539. On 3D Mark benchmark, it scored Sling Shot Extreme open GL ES 3.1 – 2468 and Sling Shot Extreme Vulkan – 2257. On the Geek benchmark, it scored 546 on single-core and 1633 on multi-core.

While on benchmark testing the smartphone, the temperature of the body rose to 34°C and the CPU temperature rose to 40°C.

(Please note: Most of the smartphones while reviewing and testing had an average body temperature of 32°C to 37°C)

Sound & Audio

Xiaomi Note10Lite -Bottom - Speaker Grill + USB Type_C+3.5mm jack

Xiaomi Note10Lite -Bottom – Speaker Grill + USB Type_C+3.5mm jack

Mi Note 10 Lite has a single side speaker grill, so when you are holding the smartphone horizontally or vertically the sound comes as a single audio channel as mono sound.
The trebles, mid-level was clear and bass was good for a smartphone. The volume is quite loud and clear. The device supports Hi-Res audio format.
The smartphone has Active noise cancellation with dedicated mic.
The smartphone comes with 3.5mm jack output but headphones are not included in the package.
Mi Note 10 Lite was tested with various types of videos and different genres of music and it passed above average compared to other competitors in a similar price range.

(Please note: The smartphone was held at a distance of 1- 2 feet while testing the audio quality)

Connectivity & Battery

The smartphone has an in-screen fingerprint sensor, face detection, pattern, pin for accessing the smartphone. The Smartphone supports Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, dual-band, Wi-Fi Direct, hotspot. Bluetooth 5.0, A2DP, LE. With App and headphones, you can also connect to FM Radio. The smartphone comes with a non-removable Li-Po 5060 mAh battery which can last more than a day with average usage. The smartphone comes with USB Type- C charging input which can charge the phone at 30W fast charging and NFC which can be used to connect to other NFC products or even for payment. Mi Note 10 Lite smartphone comes with Mi-share and Mi-document viewer. So you can share images, documents and apps with other Mi devices. With Mi-document viewer can use to view all types of documents, including pdf, ppt, and doc files.

Conclusion

Xiaomi Note10Lite - In Screen Finger Print Sensor

Xiaomi Note10Lite – In Screen Finger Print Sensor

Xiaomi MI Note 10 Lite is a good feature smartphone for the price, the phone is a mid-range with all the good features for gaming, watching online entertainment. The built quality and colour make the phone very rich and stylish. With Quad cameras with AI support makes this smartphone one of the best in the market, as for the selfies, the single 16MP lens can make difference with the Ai function which can give a very nice creamy Bokeh effect and focus on your face. It has a quick and sharp focus system.

With 128GB ROM space and with the Dual Card SIM Tray, it is a good smartphone for the price and can run for the money to its competitors.

With all the AR and AI effects and functions, it is a very young, stylish and perfect companion for the teens, gamers, businessman and fashion-conscious people. Also, the smartphone is splash resistant. It has NFC for payment and connecting with other NFC devices.

The only negative was the very low light photography under nightscape mode was not great without the protective back cover, it is a fingerprint magnet. It has an in-screen fingerprint sensor which very good for the price.

Packaging of Mi Note 10 Lite & Price

Xiaomi Note10Lite - Box Content

Xiaomi Note10Lite – Box Content

The Mi Note 10 Lite comes in white rectangular packing. On opening the box, you will find the box with contains the transparent back cover case and the warranty and instruction papers. Below the case box, you will find the Mi Note 10 Lite smartphone and below the phone, you will find the compartments which contain the 30W fast-charger, the USB Type C charging cable and the SIM card pin removal tool. The only thing missing is the headphones.

The Mi Note 10 Lite launch price for 6GB RAM +128GB ROM was at AED1549. For current price, please refer to your country retail or e-commerce portals.

Xiaomi MI Note 10 Lite

AED 1549
8.3

Design

8.0/10

Build Quality

8.0/10

Feature

8.5/10

Performance

8.5/10

Value For Money

8.5/10