Review of Huawei GT2 – Light, Comfortable, Stylish, Fitness Tracking Watch

Review of Huawei GT2 – Light, Comfortable, Stylish, Fitness Tracking Watch

December 2, 2019 Off By admin
Huawei GT2-Watch-Profile

Huawei GT2-Watch

Huawei GT2 watch is the latest wearable device that was released around Oct 2019. It upgraded version of the Huawei GT which was release around November 2018.

The Huawei GT2 has got 2 weeks of battery life which makes the wearable device unique and demanding in the market. Huawei team launched two variants of digital watches 46mm and 42mm. 46mm is targeted for males and 42mm for females.

Huawei team had sent the device for review and has been used for more than a month. Please see the details of the product and review.

Body & Specifications

Huawei GT2-Watch

Huawei GT2-Watch

The body is made of Matte Black Stainless Steel has a diameter of 45.9 mm by 10.7mm thickness. It weighs only 41 grams without the strap. The wrist belt covers 14 to 21 cm.

The review unit came with a black fluoroelastomer strap.
The Huawei Watch GT2 came with 1.39″ AMOLED 454 x 454 px touchscreen display with slide, touch gestures and a brightness of 1,000 nits. It comes with GPS and works on Bluetooth BT5.1 / BR / EDR.
The body of the watch comes with two stain steel buttons which also helps to control all the functions of the watch.

Huawei GT2-Watch- Dial- Buttons

Huawei GT2-Watch- Dial- Buttons

The wearable comes with an accelerometer sensor, gyroscope sensor, geomagnetic sensor, optical heart rate sensor, ambient light sensor, air pressure sensor, and capacitive sensor.

Huawei GT2-Watch-Magnetic Cradle for charging

Huawei GT2-Watch-Magnetic Cradle for charging

it has got a 455 mAh battery which can give around 14 days of battery life on a single charge. For charging, huawei has Magnetic charging thimble which can be charged with USB Type-C pin charging cable.

The Review

Huawei GT2-Watch- Dial

Huawei GT2-Watch- Dial

While reviewing the Huawei GT2 watch, I was impressed with the performance and long battery life which I have charged only twice or thrice in the month. The watch has 3D glass which makes the watch look bezel-less vision which is similar to the earlier Huawei GT. The stain steel dial gives an analog look and gives an artist touch to the wearable device especially with some analog dial designs available on the app.

The Huawei GT2 is powered by the latest Kirin A1 dual-chip design and intelligent power-saving technology. The watch can be used as a sports trainer as it has all the necessary sensors, GPS and GLONASS satellite positioning systems which provides accurate data about your exercise routine and details.  There are preset available on the watch which can use during workouts or even casual walks.

Swimming with targetted Goal

Huawei GT2-Watch- Swimming

Huawei GT2-Watch- Swimming

Huawei GT2 can be used while swimming as the watch is water-resistant up to 5 ATM (Water-Resistant to 50 Meters). With the Heart rate monitor HUAWEI TruSeen™ version 3.5 to provide a more efficient and accurate real-time personal measurement of your heart rate. Coupled with the intelligent AI heart rate algorithm, it monitors your heart rate throughout the entire day, even while you are sleeping.

Huawei GT2-Watch- Swimming tracking options

Huawei GT2-Watch- Swimming tracking options

So while you are swimming, HUAWEI WATCH GT2 can monitor your heart rate, as well as the SWOLF*, distance, calories burned and your speed.

*SWOLF – (Swolf is the blending of the words Swimming and Golf. SWOLF is a score that measures your swimming efficiency, and just as in golf, a lower score is better. … For instance, 30 seconds and 10 strokes to swim the length of a pool will give a SWOLF score of 40. SWOLF is primarily used for pool swimming.)

So, you can track running (indoor and outdoor), walking, elliptical, rowing (indoor and outdoor), cycling (indoor and outdoor), swimming (pool and open water), climbing, hiking, trail running, triathlon, and aerobics.

How to connect GT2 watch with a smartphone?

Huawei GT2-Watch- Firmware update

Huawei GT2-Watch- Firmware update

For the review of the Huawei GT2, I have used the Huawei P30 Pro smartphone which has the built-in Health App. Just Switch-On the watch and pair it with the smartphone via Bluetooth and you will be promoted with pairing code. Once the watch is connected the Health App will check for the firmware and if there is an update, it will prompt you and update the firmware and you are ready to use.

Huawei GT2-Watch- Firmware updating on the watch

Huawei GT2-Watch- Firmware updating on the watch

Through the Health App, you can track your progress and amount of the calories burnt and also kilometers you have walked in the day. The App also suggests you add your profile and add data like weight, age and you can set a goal to reach a certain target of weight as per your choice.

So while out on your walk or jogging, you don’t need to carry the smartphone, data is collected in the memory of the smartwatch and the GT2 automatically syncs with your smartphone once it is in the proximity of the smartphone.

Huawei GT2-Watch- Daily Tracking

Huawei GT2-Watch- Daily Tracking

Some of the function which helped me during the meetings is the notification like messages, SMS which also includes receiving and rejecting incoming calls without looking at my phone. I could also call back people via my watch from my contacts without accessing the phone.

Also, I could control my music via the watch during my walks and if you are working out indoor, then you can easily use the Bluetooth music function around 10 -15 meters in the line of sight.

As mentioned by Huawei, with the new upgrade in the firmware, you can store up to “500 songs (up to 2GB)”  and easily pair with HUAWEI FreeBuds 3. So it means that you don’t have to carry your phone while listening to your music.
(I cannot determine that now as I don’t have FreeBuds3 to confirm on the same, I have tried  to connect with the Huawei Freelace but didn’t work). 

Here is video how to transfer Music to your Huawei GT2 Watch

I followed the instruction as the video and copied around 25 songs which included Mp3, FLAC format files and the music played with no issues. Also, I realized Huawei GT2 has got a built-in small speaker and you can listen to the music which is good enough to add some music in a silent environment.

Also please do remember to choose the option from the watch music app, asking to you to choose from the option from the watch or the phone and the same place, there is the option where you can search for Bluetooth earphones (HUAWEI FreeBuds 3) compatible with the GT2 watch.

Very useful additional features

Huawei GT2- Weather Update on the Watch

Huawei GT2- Weather Update on the Watch

Some additional features which helped in my daily life like the notifications of messages, SMS, calendar reminder, etc. Also, a feature like “Find My Phone” and it has helped me to find my misplaced phone at my home.

GET UP and MOVE

One of the features which have been very useful to me is the notification sent by the watch about sitting in one place for a long time. While I am writing articles/reviews I get into a zone which I don’t realize the amount of time I am sitting in one place and the watch, time to time reminds me to get up and stretch myself and that helps me to unwind for few secs or minute and get back to work.

BREATHING EXERCISE

There is another interesting feature “Breathing Exercise” which also helps me to de-stress myself during my work. The app on the watch has got 3 different Rythm options – Fast, Medium and Slow and 1 to 3mins of breathing time. You can seat, lie down or standing in one place do the Breathing Exercise of inhaling and exhaling as per the watch and relax.

This way you can calm yourself in times of stress and even help to sleep better.

STRESS

Huawei GT2-Watch- Stress Monitoring

Huawei GT2-Watch- Stress Monitoring

The watch can also check your stress level with the help of the Health App (HUAWEI TruRelax™) on your phone. The 1st time, there are some questions you have to choose via the radio button choice of answers and with the heart monitor on your hand, it can give an idea about your stress level. Next time onwards, just click on the Health App and stress option and stay still for a minute.

 

SLEEP MONITORING

Huawei GT2-Watch- Sleep Monitoring

Huawei GT2-Watch- Sleep Monitoring

Like the earlier model Huawei GT, the Huawei GT2 watch has the TruSleep™ 2.0 built-in and with this, it scientifically tracks and diagnoses 6 common types of sleep issues while providing suggestions for better rest. And, while you sleep, the watch monitors your heart rate, analyses your breathing and awards a score on your overall sleep quality.

Conclusion

Huawei GT2-Watch- 3D-Glass giving a Bezel-less Vision

Huawei GT2-Watch- 3D-Glass giving a Bezel-less Vision

The Huawei GT2 is a lightweight, beautiful, round dial digital watch that has analog looks with the right kind of dial design. The most important it has got 14 days of battery life compared to other competitor watches. It has fitness features such as running (indoor and outdoor), walking, elliptical, rowing (indoor and outdoor), cycling (indoor and outdoor), swimming (pool and open water), climbing, hiking, trail running, triathlon, and aerobics.

Remember it has built-in GPS and GLONASS satellite positioning systems, barometer and compass which can be a big help during the hikes. And of course the 2GB storage for music which can be a great addition while working out with right compatible earbuds. And the watch is 5ATM water-resistant.

In the end, I would like to say, this perfect product for the new generation of consumers and also to fitness conscious people.

Huawei GT2 Package

Huawei GT2-Watch-Package

Huawei GT2-Watch-Package

The package comes with Huawei GT2 Watch, Silicon strap, Magnetic Charging cradle, USB Type-C Charging Cable, User Guide & Safety Information & Warranty Card.

(Please note: The above details are mentioned as per the content of the box of the review unit received from Huawei)

 

What is the price and where can you buy it?

Huawei GT2-Watch- Fitness tracking

Huawei GT2-Watch- Fitness tracking

Huawei GT 2 watch is available with most of the power retailers across UAE and online e-commerce. The price of the Huawei GT 2 – AED 849 on the Huawei website.

(Please note:- the price may differ from different retailers and promotion offers.)

 

 

 

Facebook Comments

Huawei GT2 Watch

AED849
8.8

Design

8.5/10

Build Quality

9.0/10

Features

9.0/10

Performance

8.5/10

Value for Money

9.0/10